We comply with the GDPR and any data held by us is held on the following basis provided in the GDPR, Legitimate Interest or Contract and is only such data - typically name, email, phone number and address - necessary for us to contact you. If you have any issues or object to us holding your data and would like us to delete it please email spencer@thesweetshop.tv.

Gold at Adstars

Gold at Adstars


AdStars unveiled this year’s Grand Prix, Gold, Silver and Bronze winners, which were chosen from 20,342 entries from 57 countries.


Damien Shatford’s New Zealand Police Recruitment video from Ogilvy & Mather (Auckland) was awarded Gold in Film Craft (Direction) at Ad Stars in Busan Korea over the weekend. Congratulations Sweetshop New Zealand and everyone involved.


Anna Qvennerstedt, Copywriter and Chairman at Forsman & Bodenfors in Sweden, joined AdStars 2018 as an Executive Judge. She said, “Overall, I think the creative level of entries we judged this year was very good. Technology seemed to be a very natural part of the DNA of many of the ideas we saw. It’s been a very good experience.”


Ari Halper, Chief Creative Officer at FCB New York, also joined AdStars 2018 as an Executive Judge. He said the judges made a conscious effort to reward a diverse mix of ideas. “We didn’t want to send the message to our industry that in order to get to the top, you have to make work that saves the world. Don’t get me wrong: I love purpose-drive brands. But I think it hurts our industry when we only reward ‘goodvertising’ – it says to clients that all we care about is saving the world – that’s not the business we’re in.”


BBDO Pakistan were named Agency of the Year and BBDO Network of the Year.


Eleven Grand Prix trophies were awarded to the following 9 agencies:
– Host/Havas, Australia (Direct Grand Prix & Media Grand Prix)
– Amber, China (Print Grand Prix & Promotion Grand Prix)
– TBWA\Hakuhodo, Japan (Design Grand Prix)
– TBWA\SMP, Philippines (Film Grand Prix)
– Dentsu JaymeSyfu, Philippines (Outdoor Grand Prix)
– Colenso BBDO, New Zealand (Interactive Grand Prix)
– Cheil India (Mobile Grand Prix)
– Interaction, Costa Rica (PR Grand Prix)
– GREYnJ United Bangkok (Video Stars Grand Prix)


Hwan-Jin Choi, Chairperson of the AdStars Executive Committee, says: “Our philosophy of making it free to enter AdStars has helped our festival grow so fast, with over 20,000 entries this year. We would like to congratulate all the agencies, production companies and creative professionals that were recognised at tonight’s awards ceremony. The winners represent the diversity of ideas that are being created by markets all over the world.”


Grand Prix of the Year went to two campaigns:

‘Share a Coke 1000 Name Celebration’ (Fritzo / McCann & Casanova / McCann)
‘The Palau Pledge’ (Host / Havas Australia)


See all the winners here.